Rajasthan – Telangana latest election updates

Rajasthan and Telangana elections, 2018
Rajasthan and Telangana elections, 2018

On Thursday, both states concluded a much fan fared election campaign.
Political analysts view the current elections as indicators for the general elections upcoming in 2019.

The elections on Rajasthan began early at 8 am and will likely continue until 5 p.m. Main contestants in the election is BJP and Congress. 2274 candidates seek vote for 199 Assembly seats. Around 51,667 polling stations are set up with an estimation of 4.74 voters to turn up.

Currently BJP rules the state with CM Vasundhara Raje leading the cabinet.
Despite taunts from Congress, BJP is confident o victory in the states. This confidence was echoed in the words of PM Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah. Rahul Gandhi refuses to see victory for BJP, though his party was reduced to just 21 seats in the 2013.

Telangana goes into polling booths early because of the dissolution of Assembly by the ruling TRS. The chief contesters are People’s Front, Telugu Desam Party, Telangana Jana Samiti, TRS and BJP.

Until now

10:27 am

#Rajasthan Elections
EVM machines were malfunctioning in booths 253 and 254 in Ahor constituency of Jalore. Voters
created protests over the mal functioning.

10:25 am
#Telangana elections

Voting turnout recorded in Telangana until 9:30 am is 10.15%.

9:40 am

#Rajasthan Elections
Until 9 am voter turnout in Rajasthan is 6.11%

9:08 am
#Rajasthan Elections

CM Vasundhara Raje said that she was insulted over Sharad Yadav’s comments. Earlier Sharad Yadav said, “let Vasundhara rest, she is tired, and she has become fat”.

8:46 am
#Rajasthan Elections

Vasundhara Raje casts her vote